nikicole: (Default)
[personal profile] nikicole posting in [community profile] planeswalkers
I did mention that I was a new player right? Right. Okay!

My boyfriend and I were playing this afternoon and he played the card Aven Cloudchaser. The only enchantment on the board was his own. Must he destroy his own enchantment? My thinking was no that it was an added bonus designed to be used against your enemy. In other words the casting of the creature is not dependent upon destroying the enchantment. What about a card like Kjeldoran dead? If he is in my opening hand can I cast him on turn one without sacrificing a creature?

Date: 2009-05-14 03:54 am (UTC)
stormwynd: (Default)
From: [personal profile] stormwynd
This very question came up last week at my school's Fantasy Gaming Club meeting. Small world, eh?

The general rule is always that a card plays exactly as it reads. Every now and then, things get too complicated and you need to consult the Powers That Be for a formal ruling, but in this case, the way the card reads is clear and straightforward.

The text of Aven Cloudchaser reads: "When Aven Cloudchaser comes into play, destroy target enchantment." So when your BF cast Aven Cloudchaser, after the spell resolves and the Aven Cloudchaser comes into play, the "destroy target enchantment" part of the cardtext kicks in. The caster (your BF) gets to choose the target, and there's no restriction on who the owner of the target has to be -- but he MUST choose a legal target if one is available. In this case, there was only one enchantment available to target (his own), so he HAS to select it as the target. In other words, he has no choice but to destroy his own enchantment.

If there was no enchantment in play at all, then here's what would have happened intead. BF casts Aven Cloudchaser, it comes into play, and the "destroy target enchantment" kicks in. As the caster, he gets to choose the target, but there isn't a legal target for him to choose. Therefore, the "destroy target enchantment" effect fizzles, i.e. nothing happens. However, since the Aven Cloudchaser is already in play, it stays in play.

Similar reasoning applies to Kjeldoran Dead, which reads: "When Kjeldoran Dead comes into play, sacrifice a creature." So suppose you cast KD without having any other creatures in play. KD comes into play and the "sacrifice a creature" kicks in. You (as the caster) get to pick what creature you want to sacrifice, but you MUST sacrifice the creature. The rules state that you can only sacrifice something that YOU control, so you can't sacrifice one of your opponent's creatures. Since KD is the only creature you currently have in play, you must sacrifice KD. KD is in play momentarily, but he goes to the graveyard before you can do anything with him.

Sorry that this is so long. I tend to sometimes get "rules lawyerish", something that I really try to keep under control.

Date: 2009-05-14 01:16 pm (UTC)
stormwynd: (Default)
From: [personal profile] stormwynd
Exactly!

Profile

We do Magic.

August 2009

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
91011121314 15
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 22nd, 2017 08:26 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios